Winners of FirstCar Young Driver Road
Safety Awards 2020 announced


The winners of the FirstCar Young Driver Road Safety Awards 2020 have been announced.

FirstCar launched the awards in 2015 to reward the unsung heroes in road safety, and to recognise the excellent work of road safety professionals in seeking to reduce casualties amongst young drivers.

They quickly established themselves within the road safety community and are highly sought after by the professionals working within the industry.

They seek to reward excellence in the road safety industry for initiatives specifically targeting the higher-risk, young driver.

The awards were presented for campaigns that ran between January 1 and December 31, 2019.

The awards are usually presented in person during the annual Young Driver Focus conference. However, due to Covid-19, this year's event has been postponed. The award presentations will now take place at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London, on 14 April 2021.

This year’s winners are as follows:

• Partnership Scheme of the Year: - DrivingHub, Highways England

• Private Sector Initiative: - FloowCoach, The Floow

• Partnership Scheme of the Year: - UPS Road Code, UK Youth

• Young Driver Media Campaigns: - Drive Like Gran’s in the Car, Road Safety Scotland, Transport Scotland and the Scottish Government
- THINK! New Driver Campaign, Department for Transport

Separately, Mark Taylor, of Surrey Fire and Rescue received the award for Outstanding Contribution to Young Driver Safety.

James Evans, Founder of FirstCar, said: “We were delighted with the number and quality of entries this year and it is wonderful to see first-hand what great work is going on to help combat the danger young drivers pose to themselves and other road users.

"The amount of hard work that goes on in this sector never fails to astonish.’’

An awards announcement video featuring a message from some of our winners can be viewed here

An independent judging panel selected this year's winners and was made up of Liz Box, RAC Foundation; Tracey Fuller, Arval; Sonya Hurt, Road Safety GB; Emma Kelly, Road Safety Support; Sarah Scott, DVSA; Rachel Smith, DfT and Adrian Walsh, Roadsafe.

You can book your ticket for Young Driver Focus 2021 here.

Latest news