Minister praises work of safer
roads partnerships


The Roads Minister thanked delegates of the National Safer Roads Partnerships' Conference 2017 for their commitment to reducing deaths and injuries on the country's roads.

In his keynote speech at the event, hosted by Road Safety Support, Jesse Norman MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, said: "I thank you for what you all do every day, with such commitment and professionalism."

He also announced that the Department for Transport (DfT) would support the efforts of safer roads partnerships by ensuring that all police forces have access to the CRASH (Collision Recording and SHaring) database, covering any necessary costs.

He spoke on day two of the conference, on September 28, which coincided with the DfT's release of the 2016 UK road casualty figures.

The event brought together around 150 practitioners from police forces and highway authorities from across the UK and overseas.

Delegates also heard from the Rt Hon Lord Robertson, a previous defence minister and former Secretary General of NATO, about the 'Urgency of Action' on road casualty reduction.

A road victim himself in 1977, Lord Robertson spoke passionately about his involvement in improving road safety worldwide.

He told the conference: "More people are violently killed on our roads today than they are in war zones."

He added: "Leaders across the world must recognise the urgency of action and act.

"All of us in the road safety bubble need to make sure that the message goes out there."

Thought-provoking presentations were also delivered by overseas speakers John Voyage, Camera Commissioner for Victoria, Australia; Nicholas Worrell, of the National Transportation Safety Board in the USA and Antonio Avenoso, of ETSC.

UK practitioners, who shared their experiences, were Teresa Healy and Insp Steve Davies from GoSafe Wales, Mark Hamilton, of the Rail Accident Investigation Branch; Mike Ketteringham, of Ingenie, Sam Li of Transport for Greater Manchester; Michael McDonnell, of Road Safety Scotland; Stuart Wilson, of Transport Scotland and Steve Callaghan and Adam Briggs of Road Safety Support. 

Jesse Norman MP is pictured above (centre) with Trevor Hall, Managing Director, and Emma Kelly, PR & Business Development Manager, of Road Safety Support.

Latest news